News Ticker

Album Review: Every Nothing by Tides of Man

Instrumental rock act Tides of Man release their new album Every Nothing on 3rd August. . Drummer Josh Gould, bassist Alan Jaye, and guitarist Spencer Gill formed the band in 2007, with guitarist Daniel Miller joining in 2010.

The band has an interesting history, as they released music and toured for years with a vocalist before a dramatic shift occurred. After starting out with a self-released EP in 2008 and playing live in the Tampa Bay Area, Tides Of Man quickly built a local following before catching the attention of Portland, Oregon label, Rise Records.

They released 2 full length albums, Empire Theory (2009), and Dreamhouse (2010), which both featured vocals. After touring relentlessly in the U.S for 2 years, the band parted ways with their singer and record label and took time off to regroup.

After trying out many vocalists and demoing several new songs, the band was unable to find their new singer. With the sound of the new music already taking inspiration from the instrumental post-rock genre, Tides decided on a different approach. They stopped trying to fill the position and instead let the music speak for itself. After playing a show as an instrumental band, it was clear that it was the right decision, and fans embraced the change. Now independent and without a record label, the band launched a crowdfunding campaign to record a new album. With the overwhelming support of fans, the campaign was successful and Tides Of Man was able to release their instrumental debut, Young And Courageous, in 2014.

With Every Nothing the band showcase a darker, more atmospheric side. Allowing gradual and building guitar parts to take centre stage they create a majestic and ethereal sound that resonates and connects with the listener emotionally.

It’s an album that does a lot without seemingly doing much. On the first couple of listens you could be forgiven for thinking it didn’t have much of an impact. Then you go in for your third listen and you realise that these tracks have become so familiar you know them off by heart. They’ve engrained themselves and connected with you.

From there on in every listen gets better and you can appreciate this for the excellent album it is. Over the course of just under 60 minutes there’s many highlights and you’ll probably find a different one in every listen. Whether it be the slightly heavier tones of ‘Mercury Fields’, the gradual intricacies of ‘New Futures’, the ambiance of ‘Far Off’, the laidback shanty of ‘Old 88’ or the throbbing ‘Everything Is Fine, Everyone Is Happy’ there’s something in there for every mood. That’s all without touching on the epic ‘Death Is No Dread Enemy’ or the great ‘Mosaic’.

AD Rating 8/10

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Alt Dialogue’s Top 100 Albums of 2018 Part 2: 50 – 1 – Alt Dialogue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: