News Ticker

Album Review: The People Are Revolting by Freeze The Atlantic

UK alt-rock band Freeze The Atlantic release their third album, The People Are Revolting, on 14th April via Alcopop Records. “We felt this time we wanted to try something different and we’re super glad we did” explains vocalist Liv Puente “We don’t like to repeat ourselves much so this was a new challenge, which pushed us all as musicians. We added a few overdubs there and there, and the vocals were recorded in the evening so I had something to sing to, but everything else is just the band in a room, playing as we would live. It’s quite risky and ballsy but we think the result is by far the most honest and raw record we’ve made so far.”

While still being unmistakably Freeze The Atlantic sounding this feels like a new version of the band. Gone is the darker more abrasive side of the band, it’s more accessible, more immediate. It shows the band at their most adventurous and confident. Original bass player Jon Pearce (Reuben) has returned to the fold and with it the band have found a new groove, and it suits them well.

If you like your alt-rock with swathes of 00’s riffs and hooks then FTA are the band for you. While there’s a foot firmly placed in the last decade The People Are Revolting sounds fresh and invigorating. Clocking in at just under 40 minutes, it packs a quick and immediate punch – big riffs and instantaneous hooks are the order of the day. Freeze The Atlantic pull it off with such pinnace that’s nigh on impossible not to fall in love with the album.

Unlike previous releases there’s a touch of social commentary sneaking into the lyrics with songs like ‘Altogether Not Together’ touching on the Syrian refugee crisis, ‘Gunnar Hansen’ pointing the finger at the military and addressing Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, and title track ‘The People Are Revolting’ firing broadsides at our forefathers, looking at some of the huge backward steps it feels as though the world has taken in the last 12 months.

While we loved the brashness of the band’s 2014 self-titled second album and the pop hooks of 2012 debut Speakeasy, but this is undoubtedly the best version of the band. There’s not a weak song amongst the 11 with ‘Altogether Not Together’, ‘Crackerjack’, ‘The Floor Is Made of Lava’ and ‘Roshambo’ coming in as absolute belters. Essential listening.

AD Rating 8.5/10


3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Playlist: Freeze The Atlantic’s influences – Alt Dialogue
  2. Alt Dialogue’s 2017 Mid Year Review – Alt Dialogue
  3. Alt Dialogue’s Top 100 Albums of 2017 Part 2: 50 – 1 – Alt Dialogue

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: